Monday, 28 January 2013


To celebrate the 40th Anniversary of the 1972 release of Deep Purple's 'Machine Head' Eagle Rock Entertainment produced this tribute album in September 2012.

This album, as can be seen from the cover, is a real who's who of metal and includes Def Leppard's vocalist Joe Elliott and Guns n Roses Duff McKagan and Matt Sorum.

The opening track 'Smoke On The Water' comes from Papa Roach's vocalist Jacoby Saddix teaming up with Carlos Santana. The album also has a second version, a different take, by The Flaming Lips.
'Space Truckin'' is in excellant hands of Iron Maiden while Metallica fires up with 'When A Blind Man Cries'.

This album is an excellent tribute to one of the great bands of its time - one that has lasted over the decades.

Track Listing:
1. Smoke On The Water - Carlos Santana and Jacoby Saddix
2. Highway Star - Chickenfoot
3. Maybe I'm A Leo - Glenn Hughes and Chad Smith
4. Pictures Of Home - Black Label Society
5. Never Before - Kings Of Chaos /Joe Elliott, Steve Stevens, Duff McKagan and Matt Sorum.
6. Smoke On The Water - The Flaming Lips
7. Lazy - Jimmy Barnes and Joe Bonamassa
8. Space Truckin' - Iron Maiden
9. When A Blind Man Cries - Metallica
10. Highway Star - Glenn Hughes, Steve Vai and Chad Smith

No comments:

Post a Comment